State of Washington



F-mail: II ARC@leg wa gov www.citizentaxpref.wa.gov

Citizen Commission for Performance Measurement of Tax Preferences

Dr. Grant D. Forsyth, Chair Avista Corp

Ronald Bueing

PricewaterhouseCoopers

Diane Lourdes Dick

Seattle University School of Law

Dr. Justin Marlowe

Evans School of Public Policy and Governance, University of Washington

Andi Nofziger-Meadows

Edmonds Education Association

Non-Voting Members:

Representative Derek Stanford

Chair, Joint Legislative Audit and Review Committee

Pat McCarthy

State Auditor

Citizen Commission for Performance Measurement of Tax Preferences

Meeting Minutes August 9, 2018 John A. Cherberg Building Senate Hearing Room 3 Olympia, WA

Members Present:

Grant Forsyth

Ron Bueing Justin Marlowe

Aaron Cavin

Geoff Cunningham

CALL TO ORDER AND WELCOME

Diane Lourdes Dick

Staff:

Keenan Konopaski Zack Freeman **Eric Thomas**

Scott Hancock Dana Lynn

Emily Martin

Rachel Murata Marilyn Richter Jennifer Sulcer

Kathrine Turner

Pete van Moorsel

Legislative Auditor Keenan Konopaski called the meeting to order at 10:02 am.

The Legislative Auditor welcomed everyone in attendance.

1. Committee Business

a. Election of Chair and Vice Chair

MOTION: A motion was made to elect Commissioner Grant Forsyth as Chair.

The motion was seconded and carried unanimously.

MOTION: A motion was made to elect Commissioner Ron Bueing as Vice Chair.

The motion was seconded and carried unanimously.

b. Approval of May 9, 2018 Meeting Minutes

MOTION: A motion was made to approve the May 9, 2018 meeting minutes.

The motion was seconded and carried unanimously.

(See TVW recording at 1:24)

Citizen Commission for Performance Measurement of Tax Preferences

August 9, 2018 Page 2

c. Questions to be addressed in public testimony

MOTION: A motion was made to make public legal guidance regarding the drafting of the public testimony questions.

The motion was seconded and carried unanimously.

MOTION: A motion was made to approve the public testimony questions for 2018.

The motion was seconded and carried unanimously.

(See TVW recording at 1:49)

2. 2018 Tax Preference Reviews – JLARC Staff Preliminary Report

Eric Thomas, Dana Lynn, Rachel Murata, Jennifer Sulcer and Aaron Cavin of the JLARC staff presented the 2018 tax preference review preliminary report to the commissioners.

(See TVW recording at 6:50)

3. Public Comment

Chair Forsyth asked if anyone from the public would like to testify. No one wished to do so.

(See TVW recording at 1:16:39)

Meeting adjourned at 11:23 am.